Election results also see James Lord appointed as honorary secretary

Merrick Denton-Thompson
Merrick Denton-Thompson will give oral evidence on 14 November

Merrick Denton-Thompson has been elected as President Elect in the LI elections, meaning that he will replace Noel Farrer as President in just over a year’s time.

In his electoral statement, Merrick set out his outward-facing ambitions for the LI as the following:
• Continue to motivate our staff and members to secure statutory landscape status within the regulations controlling development, with a new emphasis on enforcement, helping landscape consultants to deliver their services.
• Work to reposition the landscape profession at a senior level within the public sector to respond to the new agenda and develop the ‘intelligent client’.
• Support the devolved nations and new city region authorities in landscape policy development and employing senior landscape staff.
• Engage young people at school to become interested in landscape architecture as a profession, to increase university and college entrants and increase awareness in future clients.

President elect was one of a number of posts on council for which a single-candidate was elected unopposed. The others were honorary secretary, honorary treasurer, two licentiates and a student representative.

Ian Phillips was re-elected as Vice President. He said in his statement,  ‘If elected for a second term as Vice President, I will continue to work to promote awareness of landscape issues, their importance and relevance to people’s lives, and the experience and skills that LI members can deliver.’

James Lord was elected as honorary secretary. He wrote, ‘As Honorary Secretary I will use my experience as a successful practitioner to help the institute maximise benefits and business opportunities to members, practices and affiliates.’

Carolin Göhler was re-elected as honorary treasurer. In her statement she wrote, ‘In my view it is crucial that the LI further increases its prudent approach to expenditure issues and internal auditing; regularly reviews corporate risk; has strong assets, reserve and investment management; constantly searches for new and sustainable income and seeks opportunities to enhance efficiency in all quarters – its long-term financial stability.’

Seven members were elected to corporate council seats. They are: Colin Moore, Amanda McDermott, Kate Bailey, Robert Holden, Marc van Grieken, Candida Diamond and Wendy Wright.

Rose Walker and Simon Brown were elected as licentiates, and Isaac Winchcombe as student representative on council.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here