The Government has announced the locations of the first four proposed eco-towns

Eco-town locations revealed

Whitehill-Bordon in Hampshire, St Austell (China Clay) in Cornwall, Rackheath in Norfolk and North West Bicester in Oxfordshire have all been chosen following two years of thorough Government assessment.

According to Housing Minister John Healey, who made the announcement, the towns will be built to the toughest standards for sustainability, boasting smart meters to track energy use, community heat sources and charging points for electric cars. 

All the housing will reach at least level 4 of the Code for Sustainable Homes, while parks, playgrounds and gardens will make up 40 per cent of the towns. Children will attend local zero carbon schools, making use of the paths and cycle ways. 

Healey added: “We are leading the way on the world stage with these developments by radically rethinking how we design, plan and build our homes we can create zero carbon developments, which combine affordable housing with new green infrastructures and a higher quality of life.” 

He also announced that developers in the four successful locations would be able to bid for a share of £60m to support local infrastructure. He said he wanted to see at least six second wave areas and is making up to £5m available for councils to conduct further planning work on proposals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here