Start thinking about your entry now

2016 LI Awards launch

The LI Awards 2016 are now open for registration . Just as last year, there are 15 categories which reflect the enormous variety of work by landscape professionals and students.

What can I enter?

The 15 categories listed below include student categories and one of our newest awards, Client of the Year. The student categories and the Client of the Year category are free to enter. Client of the Year is an opportunity for the profession to formally recognise clients who understand and value the contribution of landscape architects to their projects, and support them to fulfil their vision.

Members making submissions in the professional categories can also put their projects forward for the Fellows’ Award for Climate Change Adaptation. This category is also free to enter and the College of Fellows will make the award to the project or initiative that best demonstrates a significant response to the challenges of climate change.

Work completed in the ten-year period to the end of June 2016 will be eligible for entry into the 2016 Awards, unless otherwise stated in the specific category details. Please note that work entered in the Design for a Small Scale Development, Design for a Medium Scale Development and Design for a Large Scale Development categories must have must have been implemented and formally handed over to the client and received at least one year’s maintenance by 1 July 2016. For any large projects that have involved phasing of landscape work, the phase(s) being submitted must have been completed and received at least one year’s maintenance and reached the end of the defects liability period by 1 July 2016.

Who can enter?

Submissions entered for the professional categories of the Landscape Institute Awards must be the work of either an individual chartered member or academic member of the Landscape Institute or an office, department or section headed by a chartered member of the Institute. Entrants submitting work to the student categories of the Landscape Institute Awards must have successfully completed a course accredited by the Landscape Institute. A full list of eligibility criteria for both, student and professional categories, is given in the relevant Guides for Entrants, along with information on how to submit.

How do I enter?

The first step is to register and pay for entry online. You can pay using a credit card or send in a purchase order form if you require an invoice. The deadline for registration is Friday 29 April 2016 for professional categories (there is no deadline for registering to enter student categories but submissions must be received by 1 July 2016) and it costs £160 + VAT per entry. Student categories, the Fellows’ Award and Client of the Year are all free to enter. For full details of the individual categories, eligibility criteria and conditions of entry please see the Guide for Entrants for professional categories and Guide for Entrants for student entries. If you have any queries, please contact Sabina Mohideen by emailing

Why should I enter?

The annual Landscape Institute Awards celebrates the work of the profession as well as advancing the knowledge and understanding of the discipline. As well as potentially gaining an award-winning reputation as an individual or practice, you can gain recognition across the sector and media for your hard work and innovative projects.

“LDA Design consider the Annual Awards an important event in showcasing the quality and breadth of projects that Landscape Architects are involved in. The process for judges as well as entrants is a challenging one but over recent years has been shown as demonstrating how influential LI members have become in leading high profile projects. The Awards ceremony is a great opportunity to catch up with fellow colleagues and appreciate the diversity and maturity of the profession.” David Thompson, LDA Design and 2015 winner for Design for a Large Scale Development.

“Recognition at the LI Awards is a great reward for the whole project team and provides the opportunity to showcase the broad spectrum of work undertaken by the profession to clients and collaborators alike. It’s the best way to demonstrate where positive change is happening and inspire future projects.” Luke Greysmith, Greysmith Associates and 2015 winner for Design for a Small Scale Development.

“Gillespies recognise that the Landscape Institute Awards are recognised by clients and by other leading industry professionals as the gold standard for professional excellence, acknowledging outstanding examples of work by the landscape profession. The quality and breadth of the projects shortlisted in 2015 continued to demonstrate the importance and value well-designed and planned landscapes have on our cities, towns and countryside. We were delighted to win a hat-trick of awards at last year’s LI Awards, thoroughly enjoyed the event and we look forward to attending again this year.” Sarah Gibson, Gillespies – 2015 winner for Strategic Landscape Planning.

“In most areas of work you want recognition from two principal groups – your clients and your peers. The LI Awards programme is a perfect vehicle for recognition of your work by your peers. For academics it is important to receive supportive peer reviews of our work. Receiving an award from an established national and professional institute is a significant form of peer review. As for the ceremony; it provides appropriate gravitas, a good opportunity to meet friends and colleagues and a huge ego burst when you receive best in class.” Alan Tate PPLI, Head of Landscape Architecture at University of Manitoba – 2015 winner for Policy & Research.

“Being recognised by the Landscape Institute and profession for our project the Urban Physic Garden has been tremendously validating. While we won in the inaugural year for the new category, Design of a Temporary Landscape, our project – which emerges in meanwhile spaces – is anything but fleeting. In this same year we have made the Urban Physic Garden an international non-profit, with new and ambitious gardens in the works for London and Chicago. The award will go a long way in helping us to gain further support for future initiatives,’ Heather Ring, Wayward – 2015 winner for Design for a Temporary Landscape.

“Winning the President’s Award has been a very important moment in my career and acknowledges my life’s work and the practice’s commitment to socially motivated projects. This recognition has given us more confidence and has made our clients value us more.” Lynn Kinnear, Kinnear Landscape Architects – 2015 winner for Urban Design & Masterplanning and the President’s Award.

You can visit the LI Awards page for more information.

2016 Categories

  • Adding Value through Landscape / Environmental Improvement
  • Design for a Small Scale Development
  • Design for a Medium Scale Development
  • Design for a Large Scale Development
  • Design for a Temporary Landscape Project
  • Communications and Presentation
  • Heritage and Conservation
  • Science, Management and Stewardship
  • Landscape Policy and Research
  • Local Landscape Planning
  • Strategic Landscape Planning
  • Urban Design and Masterplanning
  • Student Dissertation (free to enter)
  • Student Portfolio (free to enter)
  • Client of the Year (free to enter)

2015 winners and 2016 Awards ceremony

The winners of the 2015 Awards were honoured at a ceremony held in central London and hosted by Dame Fiona Reynolds. You can see a full list of last year’s winners, and links to case studies, here.

This year’s winners will be announced on Thursday 24 November at The Brewery. The event will take place at lunchtime and commences with a drinks reception, followed by lunch and the presentation of awards. Booking for this event opens in September.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here