LI Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has ultimate responsibility for the activities of the Landscape Institute, in line with the requirements of the Charities Act 1993 and as prescribed by the Royal Charter, By-Laws and Regulations.

The role of the Board is to:

  • Ensure that the Institute has a clear vision and a strategy focused on its achievements
  • Ensure that the Institute meets its objects as set out in the Charter and retains its ethos and values
  • Ensure that the Institute complies with its legal and regulatory requirements
  • Take expert advice from members, Advisory Council and Standing Committees
  • Act as guardians of the Institute’s assets, both tangible and intangible, and ensure the financial stability of the organisation
  • Agree performance targets for the Chief Executive and hold the secretariat to account

The Board’s role and responsibilities are set out in its Terms of Reference and all Trustees are also subject to the Trustee Code of Conduct


The Board has legal responsibility for the charity and normally meets five times a year. There are up to 13 board members:

  • 5 Honorary Officers all directly elected by LI members:
    • President
    • Vice-President
    • Honorary Secretary
    • Honorary Treasurer
    • President Elect or Immediate Past President in alternate years
  • 1 Non-Chartered Board member directly elected by LI members
  • 3 Standing Committee Chairs (Education & Membership,  Policy & Communications, Technical)
  • 4 other Independent Trustees who may or may not be LI members, depending on the Board’s skills requirements

Current Trustees

Vice President Noel Farrer FLI PPLI
Immediate Past President Jane Findlay CMLI IPPLI
Honorary Secretary Dr Keren Jones CMLI
Honorary Treasurer Mathew Haslam CMLI
Non-Chartered Trustee Adam Barker AMLI MRTPI
Chair, Education and Membership Committee (EMC) Christine House CMLI
Chair, Policy and Communications Committee (PCC) Kathryn Bailey CMLI
Chair, Technical Committee (TC) Marc Van Grieken FLI
Independent Trustee Jane Clarke
Independent Trustee Marc Norden
Independent Trustee James Stuart Smyllie